Top Sources and Journalists Cited on Metacurity

Our rankings are based on the frequency of how often each publication or journalist “leads” the news on a particular cybersecurity development. This frequency calculation does not necessarily correlate with which publication or journalist broke the news or produced the highest quality article.

Some of the best publications and journalists don’t rate high in our rankings because their reports take time to produce and aren’t as frequent. Some of the publications and journalists who break news stories don’t always provide the most insightful pieces on the story.

Still, our top sources tables should be useful to help cybersecurity professionals, public relations representatives, and anyone else interested in following cybersecurity news find the right resources to follow via feeds, twitter and Metacurity’s own website.

(Jump to top journalists table.)

Top Sources for Lead Entries on Metacurity
October 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019
PublicationURLRSS FeedNum.%
ZDNet https://www.zdnet.comFeed8415.0%
Bleeping Computer https://www.bleepingcomputer.comFeed447.9%
TechCrunch https://techcrunch.comFeed376.6%
Motherboard https://motherboard.vice.comFeed315.5%
Reuters https://reuters.com/technologyNewsFeed223.9%
Ars Technica https://arstechnica.comFeed193.4%
ThreatPost https://threatpost.comFeed193.4%
Guardian https://www.theguardian.comFeed162.9%
Venture Beat https://venturebeat.comFeed142.5%
Krebs on Security https://krebsonsecurity.comFeed132.3%
New York Times https://nytimes.comFeed132.3%
Bloomberg https://www.bloomberg.com/Feed122.1%
Wired https://www.wired.comFeed122.1%
Forbes https://www.forbes.comFeed101.8%
Hacker News https://thehackernews.comFeed101.8%
Washington Post https://washingtonpost.comFeed101.8%
Register https://www.theregister.co.ukFeed91.6%
CNET https/cnet.comFeed81.4%
Wall Street Journal https://www.wsj.comFeed81.4%
CNBC https://www.cnbc.comFeed71.3%
Cyberscoop https://www.cyberscoop.comFeed61.1%
Verge https://www.theverge.comFeed61.1%
Buzzfeed https://www.buzzfeed.comFeed50.9%
OneZerohttps://onezero.medium.comFeed50.9%
Associated Press https://www.apnews.com/apf-topnewsFeed40.7%
Axios https://api.axios.com/feed/topFeed40.7%
BBC News https://www.bbc.com/news/worldFeed40.7%
CNN https://cnn.comFeed40.7%
Daily Beast https://www.thedailybeast.comFeed30.5%
FinSMEshttp://www.finsmes.com/Feed30.5%
NBC News https://www.nbcnews.comFeed30.5%
Nextgov https://www.nextgov.comFeed30.5%
AFP https://www.afp.com/enFeed20.4%
Business Insider https://www.businessinsider.comFeed20.4%
Financial Times https://www.ft.comFeed20.4%
Gizmodo https://gizmodo.comFeed20.4%
NOLA.comhttp://www.nola.comFeed20.4%
Politico https://www.politico.comFeed20.4%
Silicon Anglehttps://siliconangle.com/Feed20.4%
Slatehttps://slate.comFeed20.4%
The Agehttps://www.theage.com.auFeed20.4%
The South Africanhttps://www.thesouthafrican.comFeed20.4%
Washington Post https://washingtonpost.comFeed20.4%
Times of Israel https://www.timesofisrael.comFeed20.4%
Vice News https://news.vice.comFeed20.4%



The Most Frequently Cited Journalists in Lead Entries
October 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019
AuthorPublicationTwitter#%
Catalin Cimpanu ZDNet@campuscodi7112.8%
Zack Whittaker TechCrunch@zackwhittaker285.0%
Sergiu Gatlan Bleeping Computer@Serghei183.2%
Lawrence Abrams Bleeping Computer@Lawrence Abrams173.1%
Brian Krebs Krebs on Security@briankrebs132.3%
Dan Goodin Ars Technica@dangoodin001132.3%
Joseph CoxMotherboard@josephfcox132.3%
Ionut Ilascu Bleeping Computer@Ionut_Ilascu91.6%
Lindsey O'Donnell ThreatPost@LindseyOD12391.6%
Paul Sawers Venture Beat@psawers81.4%
Tara Seals ThreatPost@wirelesswench81.4%
Lorenzo Franceschi-Bicchierai Motherboard@lorenzofb71.3%
Andy Greenberg Wired@a_greenberg61.1%
Caroline Haskins Buzzfeed News / Motherboard@Carolineha_61.1%
Thomas Brewster Forbes@iblametom61.1%
Swati Khandelwal Hacker News@Swati_THN50.9%
Christopher Bing Reuters@@bing_chris40.7%
Danny Palmer ZDNet@dannyjpalmer40.7%
Kate Fazzini CNBC@KateFazzini40.7%
Liam Tung ZDNet@LiamT40.7%
Lily Hay Newman Wired@lilyhnewman40.7%
Mohit Kumar Hacker News@unix_root40.7%
Sean Lyngaas Cyberscoop@snlyngaas40.7%
Alex Hern Guardian@alexhern30.5%
Alfred Ng CNET@alfredwkng30.5%
Charlie Osborne ZDNet@SecurityCharlie30.5%
Charlie Warzel New York Times@cwarzel30.5%
David Shepardson Reuters@davidshepardson30.5%
Dustin Volz Wall Street Journal@dnvolz30.5%
Ellen Nakashima Washington Post@nakashimae30.5%
Kyle Wiggers Venture Beat@Kyle_L_Wiggers30.5%
RAPHAEL SATTER Reuters@@razhael30.5%
Ronen Bergman New York Times@ronenbergman30.5%
Sankalp Phartiyal Reuters@sankalp_sp30.5%
Sean Gallagher Ars Technica@thepacketrat30.5%
Shaun Nichols Register@shaundnichols30.5%
Stuart Thompson New York Times@stuartathompson30.5%
Alexi McCammond Axios@alexi20.4%
Brian Barrett Wired@brbarrett20.4%
Chris O'Brien Venture Beat@OBRIEN20.4%
Dave Gershgorn OneZero@davegershgorn20.4%
Dell Cameron Gizmodo@dellcam20.4%
Duncan Riley Silicon Angle@duncanriley20.4%
Echo Wang Reuters@DEER_ECHO_20.4%
Elizabeth Culliford Reuters@eculliford20.4%
Greg Bensinger Washington Post@GregBensinger20.4%
Ingrid Lunden TechCrunch@ingridlunden20.4%
Jack Stubbs Reuters@jc_stubbs20.4%
Jason Koebler Motherboard@jason_koebler20.4%
Joe Uchill Axios@joeuchill20.4%
Joseph Menn Reuters@josephmenn20.4%
Kate O'Flaherty Forbes@KateOflaherty20.4%
Kevin Collier CNN@kevincollier20.4%
Kim Zetter Politico@kimzetter20.4%
Marine Strauss Reuters@StraussMarine20.4%
Mark Hosenball NAReutersNA20.4%
Mike Isaac New York Times@MikeIsaac20.4%
NICOLE PERLROTH New York Times@nicoleperlroth20.4%
Queenie Wong CNET@QWongSJ20.4%
Robert McMillan Wall Street Journal@bobmcmillan20.4%
Ron Miller TechCrunch@Ron_Miller20.4%
Steve O'Hear TechCrunch@sohear20.4%
Tony Romm Washington Post@tonyromm20.4%
Zak Doffman Forbes@UKZak20.4%