Top Sources and Journalists Cited on Metacurity

Our rankings are based on the frequency of how often each publication or journalist “leads” the news on a particular cybersecurity development. This frequency calculation does not necessarily correlate with which publication or journalist broke the news or produced the highest quality article.

Some of the best publications and journalists don’t rate high in our rankings because their reports take time to produce and aren’t as frequent. Some of the publications and journalists who break news stories don’t always provide the most insightful pieces on the story.

Still, our top sources tables should be useful to help cybersecurity professionals, public relations representatives, and anyone else interested in following cybersecurity news find the right resources to follow via feeds, twitter and Metacurity’s own website.

(Jump to top journalists table.)

Top Sources for Lead Entries on Metacurity
July 1, 2019 through September 30, 2019
PublicationURLRSS FeedNum.%
ZDNet https://www.zdnet.comFeed7113.9%
Bleeping Computer https://www.bleepingcomputer.comFeed336.5%
Reuters https://reuters.com/technologyNewsFeed316.1%
Motherboard https://motherboard.vice.comFeed254.9%
TechCrunch https://techcrunch.comFeed244.7%
Ars Technica https://arstechnica.comFeed234.5%
New York Times https://nytimes.comFeed234.5%
Wired https://www.wired.comFeed193.7%
Guardian https://www.theguardian.comFeed152.9%
ThreatPost https://threatpost.comFeed132.6%
Wall Street Journal https://www.wsj.comFeed122.4%
Associated Press https://www.apnews.com/apf-topnewsFeed112.2%
Forbes https://www.forbes.comFeed112.2%
Register https://www.theregister.co.ukFeed112.2%
Washington Post https://washingtonpost.comFeed112.2%
Bloomberg Lawhttps://news.bloomberglaw.comNA102.0%
CNEThttps://cnet.comFeed102.0%
Venture Beat https://venturebeat.comFeed102.0%
CNBC https://www.cnbc.comFeed81.6%
Krebs on Security https://krebsonsecurity.comFeed81.6%
BBC News https://www.bbc.com/news/worldFeed71.4%
Cyberscoop https://www.cyberscoop.comFeed71.4%
Hacker News https://thehackernews.comFeed51.0%
Verge https://www.theverge.comFeed51.0%
Axios https://api.axios.com/feed/topFeed30.6%
Business Insider https://www.businessinsider.comFeed30.6%
CNNhttps://www.cnn.comFeed30.6%
Deutsche Welle https://www.dw.com/en/top-stories/s-9097Feed30.6%
Politico https://www.politico.comFeed30.6%
ProPublicahttps://www.propublica.org/Feed30.6%
9to5Mac https://9to5mac.comFeed20.4%
Atlanta Journal-Constitution https://www.ajc.com/NA20.4%
Financial Times https://www.ft.comFeed20.4%
Guardian https://www.theguardian.comFeed20.4%
Los Angeles Times https://www.latimes.comFeed20.4%
CSO Online https://www.csoonline.comFeed20.4%
StateScoophttps://statescoop.comFeed20.4%
Hill https://thehill.comFeed20.4%
The Informationhttps://www.theinformation.comFeed20.4%
Yahoo News https://news.yahoo.comFeed20.4%



The Most Frequently Cited Journalists in Lead Entries
July 1, 2019 through September 30, 2019
AuthorPublicationTwitter#%
Catalin Cimpanu ZDNet@campuscodi5911.6%
Zack Whittaker TechCrunch@zackwhittaker203.9%
Dan Goodin Ars Technica@dangoodin001122.4%
Ionut Ilascu Bleeping Computer@Ionut_Ilascu122.4%
Joseph Cox Vice News@josephfcox112.2%
Lawrence Abrams Bleeping Computer@Lawrence Abrams112.2%
Lily Hay Newman Wired@lilyhnewman112.2%
Sergiu Gatlan Bleeping Computer@Serghei102.0%
Brian Krebs Krebs on Security@briankrebs81.6%
Lorenzo Franceschi-Bicchierai Motherboard@lorenzofb81.6%
Sean Gallagher Ars Technica@thepacketrat81.6%
Thomas Brewster Forbes@iblametom81.6%
Alfred Ng CNET@alfredwkng71.4%
Lindsey O'DonnellThreatPost@LindseyOD12371.4%
Shaun Nichols Register@shaundnichols61.2%
Charlie Osborne ZDNet@SecurityCharlie51.0%
Drew Harwell Washington Post@drewharwell51.0%
Jonathan StempelReutersNA51.0%
Tara Seals ThreatPost@wirelesswench51.0%
Andy Greenberg Wired@a_greenberg40.8%
Danny Palmer ZDNet@dannyjpalmer40.8%
Kyle Wiggers Venture Beat@Kyle_L_Wiggers40.8%
Sean Lyngaas Cyberscoop@snlyngaas40.8%
Alex Hern Guardian@alexhern30.6%
Caroline Haskins Vice News@Carolineha_30.6%
Jack Stubbs Reuters@jc_stubbs30.6%
Joe Uchill Axios@joeuchill30.6%
Jordan Novet CNBC@jordannovet30.6%
Julian Barnes New York Times@julianbarnes30.6%
Kim Zetter Yahoo News/Wired@kimzetter30.6%
Matthew PanzarinoTechCrunch@panzer20.4%
Thomas Claburn Register@ThomasClaburn30.6%
Angel KrasimirovReuters NA20.4%
AnnaMaria Andriotis Wall Street Journal@AAndriotis20.4%
Brian Barrett Wired@brbarret20.4%
Chance Miller 9to5Mac@ChanceHMiller20.4%
Christopher Bing ReutersChristopher Bing20.4%
Connie Loizos TechCrunch@cookie20.4%
Davey WinderForbes@happygeek20.4%
David Sanger New York Times@SangerNYT20.4%
David Shepardson Reuters@davidshepardson20.4%
Dustin Volz Wall Street Journal@dnvolz20.4%
Emil ProtalinskiReuters@epro20.4%
Foo Yun CheeReuters@FooYunChee20.4%
Geoffrey Fowler Washington Post@geoffreyfowler20.4%
Jeff Horwitz Wall Street Journal@JeffHorwitz20.4%
Jeff Stone Cyberscoop@jeffstone50020.4%
Joel Schectman Reuters@joel_schectman20.4%
Joseph Marks Washington Post@Joseph_Marks_20.4%
Josh Taylor Guardian@joshgnosis20.4%
Karl BodeVice News@Karl Bode20.4%
Kate Brumback Associated Press@KateBrumback20.4%
Kate Conger New York Times@kateconger20.4%
Kate Fazzini CNBC@KateFazzini20.4%
Kiel Porter Bloomberg@KielPorter20.4%
Liam Tung ZDNet@LiamT20.4%
Liana Baker Bloomberg@lianabaker20.4%
Liz LeeReuters@livinglizly20.4%
Maggie MillerHill@magmill9520.4%
Mary Clare Jalonick Associated Press@MCJalonick20.4%
Mihir ZaveriNew York Times@mihirzaveri20.4%
Mohit Kumar Hacker News@unix_root20.4%
Russell Brandom Verge@russelllbrandom20.4%
Ryan Tracy Wall Street Journal@RyanJTracy20.4%
Shaddi Abusaid Atlanta Journal-Constitution@ShaddiAbusaid20.4%
Swati Khandelwal Hacker News@Swati_THN20.4%
Tami Abdollah Associated Press@latams20.4%
Tony Romm Washington Post@tonyromm20.4%
Tsvetelia TsolovaReuters@Tsvetelia20.4%